“To get everything you want is not a good thing. Disease makes health seem sweet. Hunger leads to the appreciation of being full-fed. Tiredness creates the enjoyment of resting.” Heraclitus

“Buddhism has no room for special effort. Just be ordinary and nothing special. Eat and drink, then move your bowels and pass water, and when you’re tired go to sleep. Fools will find me ridiculous, but the wise will understand.” Lin-Chi

I really enjoy my body at times. There are times when I’m left with a deep satisfaction after some activities; like going to the toilet after needing it for a long time, sitting down in the morning with a bun and a good cup of tea, having a lay-in in the morning, stretching in the morning in bed, resting after some strenuous physical work or taking a deep refreshing breath of fresh cold outside air. Afterwards I just let the experience settle over me and I just enjoy it, expressing a deeply satisfied sigh, aaah! Little reminders that life is good. I think I get more of a spiritual high from these than some meditations…

